Bark Busters Frederick County Reviews

Reviews

30 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 5 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Ellen B.
    6 years ago — Knoxville, MD

    I decided to search for dog trainers who would train at my home. I couldn't believe that I could find only one in my area, Maxine and John. But after researching what Block Busters was and reading reviews on Maxine and John, I decided to give it a try.

    When Maxine came to my home, she described why using dog language made sense. Still, I never thought I would see results almost immediately. Remy is about 4 yo and I feared that he was already set in his ways, but if you communicate in their own language, any dog can learn. And Remy just loves the praises he gets when he correctly does what is asked of him. No bribing with food or using negative reinforcement.

    Maxine is the best. She is friendly and patient with both dog and owner. She's also is very good at helping an owner understand what he/she needs to do to accomplish his/her goal.

    They even charge a one time fee. If you ever need them, even months later, one of them will be there in no time, no extra charge.

    I can't recommend Maxine and John enough. Give them a try. You will be happy you did. I certainly think it's one of the best decisions I ever made.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Ellen B.
    6 years ago — Knoxville, MD

    Photo of Remy LeBeau I decided to search for dog trainers who would train at my home. I couldn't believe that I could find only one in my area, Maxine and John. But after researching what Block Busters was and reading reviews on Maxine and John, I decided to give it a try.

    When Maxine came to my home, she described why using dog language made sense. Still, I never thought I would see results almost immediately. Remy is about 4 yo and I feared that he was already set in his ways, but if you communicate in their own language, any dog can learn. And Remy just loves the praises he gets when he correctly does what is asked of him. No bribing with food or using negative reinforcement.

    Maxine is the best. She is friendly and patient with both dog and owner. She's also is very good at helping an owner understand what he/she needs to do to accomplish his/her goal.

    They even charge a one time fee. If you ever need them, even months later, one of them will be there in no time, no extra charge.

    I can't recommend Maxine and John enough. Give them a try. You will be happy you did. I certainly think it's one of the best decisions I ever made.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Madeleine B.
    6 years ago — Frederick, MD

    Photo of Gemma Rose Benda 5 stars- amazing. She covered distance training, walking in the leash, barking at the door, chewing on clothing. Everything was very detailed and easy to understand. I walked her on the leash this morning, and everything is going really well!

    Thanks again <3

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Toileting
    • #Other
  • Samantha R.
    7 years ago — Middletown, MD

    Photo of Gizmo I been doing lessons with Maxine and the training is great. Gizmo has made so much progress with just 2 lesson and its amazing. I love what Bark Busters does.

    • #Chewing
    • #Puppy management
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Toileting
  • Karl C.
    7 years ago — Clear Spring, MD

    Photo of Howard, Beagle, Lucy, Layla, Arlo, Ollie.... foster dog Opie John Trobaugh came out to our house. We have a unique situation. We have 6 dogs of our own, 3 of which are in a tight pack. 2 are older and could careless, and one is just a puppy. We also foster coon hounds.
    We have a hound that has some medical issues, and the "pack" would pick up on this, and have ganged up and hurt the foster dog. We called "Bark Busters" John IMMEDIATELY had things under a better sense of control. after two meetings at our house, I firmly believe that we have a control over the dogs that was non existent prior. We must continue our training, but I feel like I am back in control when I need to be. Dogs will be dogs, and that's why we love them. Having control of your dogs in a bad or unsafe situation is PRICLESS! Thank you John!!!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Other
  • Kelly M.
    8 years ago — Sabillasville, MD

    Loved the training! We were able to address concerns with our dogs individually vs. in a group setting. This is exactly what we needed ! John was super friendly and really knew his stuff. The training was really different but effective.

    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    Trainer Note:
    Thanks for the great review, but it's you who are doing the work. And doing great - the dogs are behaving wonderfully!
  • SUSAN S.
    8 years ago — Frederick, MD

    Photo of Levi Maxine has a wonderful, calm way about her. Levi responded immediately to her training techniques but still lacked calmness when visitors come. Maxine came back and worked with us as needed until he and I finally got it! I whole-heartedly recommend Maxine and Bark Busters. No clicker to carry or lose, no gadgets or treats, just praise and positive reinforcement! And you always have those with you! It was an awesome experience!

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Mindy N.
    8 years ago — Frederick, MD

    Photo of Raven I highly recommend Bark Busters to anyone that owns a dog. Maxine is AMAZING! She accessed the craziness of our lives (Autism, PTSD, and 6 months worth of previous training that was not a fit) and has begun to give us light at the end of what we thought was a very dark tunnel. Using techniques that are very gentle, humane, and extremely effective we are already seeing very positive results 3 months in. I will continue to use Maxine and Bark Busters for as long as I own dogs.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Digging
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Toileting
    • #Other
  • Kim B.
    9 years ago — Martinsburg, WV

    We appreciate all the great tips Maxine provided; our dogs have been responding well to the training and we are very happy! We would highly recommend Maxine and John.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
  • Cathy R.
    9 years ago — Sharpsburg, MD

    We have seen a big difference in the behavior of our dog. The training has
    helped him be more calm and behave better (stop jumping on people,
    stop chewing on children's toys, less aggressive, etc).

    • #Aggression
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    We are so glad to have helped your dog become more relaxed and comfortable in the situations that used to be so stressful. The improvement at the vet's office is wonderful!