Theresa Nichols dog training reviews

Theresa Nichols

Expert Dog Trainer, Theresa Nichols

See below for all reviews for Theresa Nichols, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Chris K
Chris K Auburn, Lee, Alabama | February 21 2021
Theresa came highly recommended by the Lee County Humane Society when I asked them for help with our family dog that had bitten one of the children. After we decided to work together, she sent me some information to get me prepared for our first meeting. Even though she was greeted at the door with loud barks and bared teeth, she kept her cool and within about 1 hour he was eating out of her hand. I was impressed, but the real work was yet to come. She walked me through several different exercises/activities to recondition his behavior and train me to set the tone for what was expected in the house and out on walks, and gave me some equipment to use while training. While neither I nor Bodie were perfect right away, the progress was astounding. She recapped each of the activities with me before she left, and I felt very confident in 6 or 7 of the 8, but that's ok. Part of the package she sent me later was a detailed action plan for the first 4 weeks, including a checklist for the daily activities we are supposed to practice, and a reminder on what I was supposed to do with each one. OK! Even now just a day or two after Theresa has started with us, this dog is the best behaved it's ever been. He used to bark in my face every time I would get dressed because he knew I was going out somewhere and there was a chance he could go on a car ride or a walk. He also used to crowd me in the kitchen while I was making dinner or getting his food ready or his treats ready. But one of the early things she taught me was how to hold a space in the kitchen to work when I want, and to let him in during normal times. I decided to test that right after she left by making myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Normally when he smelled peanut butter he was *right in there* hoping to get some for himself but this time he stood patiently about six feet away, and just watched until I called him and I was finished. It was the same thing for filling his food bowls and stuffing his toys with treats. Amazing!! I cannot tell you how much more enjoyable it is to get dressed in the morning and come downstairs and put my shoes on and have a breakfast without a dog barking in my face the whole time because he expects to go for a walk or go for a ride. He's still there next to me happy as ever, he's just not barking! We're still working on the "loose leash" walking techniques, and it seems weird to have to correct him all the time instead of letting him wander around, but he's starting to figure it out, and that means less corrections. Honestly it's better exercise for both of us when he does it correctly because we keep a good pace. He still gets to pee and poop and enjoy the outside, but we actually get moving well enough to get some real exercise, and it's much more enjoyable and less strain my back if he's not pulling the whole time. I'm excited to see how far Bodie and I can take this training, we're both learning at the same time. I feel like I made the right decision to hire Theresa with Bark Busters, and I look forward to showing her how much progress we've made by the next time we all get together. Thank you for making my dog more fun to be around, and safer too. I can't tell you how much it means, but you saw it on my face. I WISH we had done something like this earlier. If your dog is running your house, and/or sometimes out of your control, please do something about it - call Theresa and get some help. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Chewing, Jumping up, Recall, Toileting
Erin M
Erin M Fort Benning, Georgia | February 21 2021
Theresa was great at answering our questions during and after training. She was very knowledgeable and responsive. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Julie V
Julie V Auburn, Alabama | February 20 2021
Theresa is amazing! After only one training session our dog, Kenzie, is already behaving better. Theresa showed us how to effectively communicate with Kenzie by establishing ourselves as leaders in the dogs eyes. Having the knowledge to address behavior issues is such a relief. Some of the issues we worked on are growling/barking at people, jumping up on people, claiming our space(eg keeping her out of the kitchen when we’re cooking...), and walking well on a leash with distractions. Kenzie is worn out from the session, so we’re done for today, but I am excited to practice our new skills tomorrow. We were feeling really frustrated with our dog’s behavior and heard about Theresa’s training after trying several other places. The combination of Theresa’s methods and that she came to our home seem to be just what we needed. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Trica B
Trica B Cataula, Georgia | February 04 2021
My sweet Lil Bud, the barker, has already changed his tune. I hope I’m as fast a learner as he is! My house is already quieter than before Bark Busters arrived. I believe he’s happier and calmer... and so am I! He’s worn out from all his learning this morning. I’m so happy we’re on the right path and we now know who the pack leader is...thank you, Theresa ? Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Recall
Kimberly M
Kimberly M Phenix City, Alabama | January 28 2021
Theresa came to work with our 8 month old black labrador retriever. His behaviors have included jumping, pulling on clothing, pulling on his leash during walks and generally being the boss! Theresa's interventions introduced ways to curb our pup's attention seeking behaviors. She also helped us practice "own the space" as the human leaders of our pack. I definitely recommend her! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Keisha J
Keisha J Fortson, Georgia | January 22 2021
I saw major improvement on the very first day with my male 4 month old Yorkie! Theresa is amazing! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Toileting
Nichole D
Nichole D Notasulga, Alabama | January 10 2021
After the first training session I can alrady see an incredible improvement in our dog's behavior! Theresa is patient and understanding, and goes at your pace. I can't wait to see more results in time. Thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Pulling, Recall
Danielle W
Danielle W Fortson, Georgia | January 10 2021
Theresa was wonderful explaining and working with us and our dog. It has only been 2 days since she came for her initial session our dog has made tremendous improvements. Our dog is much calmer and is beginning to understand we are the pack leaders. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Loralee K
Loralee K 31909, Georgia | January 08 2021
Theresa is an excellent trainer and is teaching me how to train my Australian Shepherd, Finn. Finn is very intelligent but very hyperactive, and within one session I have seen significant changes in his behavior. She has taught me how to assert myself as a pack leader and my dog is responding very well. I highly recommend booking Theresa! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Brittany H
Brittany H Columbus, Georgia | December 28 2020
Theresa has been working with my sister and her dog, Sophie, for over a month now and the experience has been great. We saw tremendous improvements in Sophie's behavior after just the first session, and over the next month it continued to improve. Sophie has developed anxiety and we're still working on keeping her calm when neighbors walk past the apartment, but when something hasn't worked, Theresa has always had another method to try. We chose to work with Bark Busters because they claim to use positive reinforcement and better communication rather other less pleasant methods like shock collars. Sophie is a sweet dog who has a strong bond with us and we didn't want to hit or mistreat her. Theresa shares that mindset and the Bark Busters methods really have deepened our bond with Sophie. I also really appreciated that Theresa invited me to attend the training sessions even though Sophie belongs to my sister and my sister is paying for the training (not me). But because I keep Sophie during the day while my sister is at work, Theresa knew I would be spending a lot of time with Sophie. Consistency is really important to make these techniques work, and having attended the training sessions, I can work with Sophie at home during the day, which has helped our progress. Finally, lots of people claim to love dogs, but you can tell quickly that Theresa really does care about the clients she works with. If something isn't working, she doesn't force it. She's patient and she tries to tailor what she does to the dog and family she works with. Working with her has been a great investment. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more