Bark Busters Des Moines Reviews

Reviews

274 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.91 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Nick C.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Simply put, we have a new outlook on our dogs. We were unsure how things would go but had hopes that Bark Busters would be able to help. Deb came and worked with our dogs and us and all of the sudden it started to click for everyone. Our older dog Leroy has never walked on a leash with out it being pulled tight, this day was the first day there was slack in the leash. While doing the second day's homework it was like having different dogs. We are looking forward to continue to work on all of the skills we and the dogs have learned and hope to continue to see much improvement in their behavior. We would definitely recommend this program to anyone looking for any sort of help gaining better control over their dog.

    • #Aggression
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    I'm happy to hear that you are off to a good start! I appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you all again, soon!
  • Lyndzy and Sean M.
    8 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Bark Busters gave us hope when we felt that there was none. Our pitbull Hercules became aggressive with a wicked case of stranger danger after an incident with a stranger in our backyard. He was even unable to be boarded any longer which caused my husband or myself to stay behind with him while the rest of the family went out of town. Even having someone knock at the door resulted in a huge meltdown of barking and attacking the door. He once broke through a window while barking at a stranger outside. After Deb's first visit, Hercules was able to stay in the kitchen while I answered the door and not bark. After the guest has entered he is told he is free and Hercules comes to greet the guest without jumping even! After our first set of homework we have moved on to walking on a loose leash among other leash/walking manners. I was hesitant about the price but the lifetime plan offers me peace of mind for the rest of my dogs life. Deb is available 24/7 by phone or email and has been very flexible with her schedule for our in home training. Our corgi puppy is also on the lifetime plan and we are working with basic commands and manners right now with her. Both dogs have caught on very quickly without the use of food or physical intervention. Deb literally helps reprogram your dog to achieve peace in your household. I am so happy that we gave this program a chance. We have had so much progress after 2 weeks and I can't wait to see how the dogs continue to progress!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    I just sit and smile while reading what you've written. You have done a great job. Your dogs are so deserving of your efforts!
  • Natalie M.
    8 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    My family is very excited about the work we began with Deb during our first visit. We have been struggling with some behaviors of our one-year-old goldendoodle: running away from us, jumping, demanding our attention. When Deb came to our house, she spent a considerable amount of time listening to our concerns, and then moved us into teaching some techniques to help us respond to these behaviors more appropriately. All the techniques she showed us are easy to use anywhere and by anyone, including our kids. We look forward to continuing our work with Deb!

    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Kayla P.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    It only took one lesson with Deb to start seeing changes in Loki's behavior and manners. He is such a people pleaser and so quick to learn and pick up new skills with the tools we learned at Bark Busters. He's fantastic leash walking (as long as there are no distractions...still working on that) and waits for permission to get on furniture and go through doors or leave his kennel. I have even recommended Bark Busters already to other friends who have expressed frustrations with their pups! So glad I took the leap

    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Toileting
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you, Kayla! So glad you've seen improvement in those areas. As you know, I'm available to help whenever you need it!
  • Peggy and Carrie T.
    8 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    We called Bark Busters for our dog Bella. We had used Bark Busters before with one of our dogs when she was a pup 11 years ago. Bella is dog aggressive, bolts off leash and barks her heard off in the yard when other dogs walk by. Debra came and worked with Bella and us. Bella is a smart dog as it only took one or two times of Debra showing us the tools and Bella stopped her behavior. ( bella made us look bad) We practiced the things Debra showed us and it works. Bella is behaving when someone comes to the door and rings the door bell. She used to rush the door and bark like a fool, but now she goes to the edge of the carpet and waits for us to open the door and release her before she greets the guests. On our second visit Debra taught us tools to help with barking as dogs go by. We have been working a lot on this and Bella is responding positively. She still barks, when we are not out there, but as soon as we BAHH her she looks back and stops. Bella is getting a lot better with the dog aggression when we go for walks. This is something we have to continue to work and as she feels more comfortable in not having to "guard us and protect us" she is getting better. A lot of the things Debra told us about Bella's behavior make sense and are improving. Debra is a patient person and takes the time to explain things and why it works. She is a excellent trainer. With the training we have done so far it has been a vast improvement with Bella. This stuff really works!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. You are doing an awesome job and Bella is so worth it!
  • Christy S.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    We watched Deb Boswell transform herself before our very eyes. Suddenly, her whole demeaner changed and she presented our dog's point of view. It was an amazing, edifying and charming experience.

    Deb had the knowledge we needed to help our dear little rescue dog. The results were immediate and lasting.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you so much for your kind words!
  • Robbie A.
    8 years ago — Urbandale, IA

    Deb was very patient with Rocky - but yet firm. Although he still relapses from time to time, overall, most of the things that were huge problems initially are very minor now! And I've gotta admit - the "Bah" command took some getting used to - but - yes - it does work!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
  • Dana W.
    8 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    We thought it sounded too good to be true that we could get results without treats or clickers, ect. But that was exactly what Bark Busters delivered. We saw results after our first training session. By sticking with the training schedule, knowing that we have complete support in the future, we are confident that we will achieve our training goals.

    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Stephanie t.
    8 years ago — Altoona, IA

    Photo of Niko My dog Niko is a nervous and overly protective dog. He is a very smart border collie that has aced his canine good citizen and basic obedience skills. We are expecting a baby in a few months and hoping with Bark Busters' help for a smooth transition. Bark busters developed a few exercises to emphasize my husband and I as the leaders so my dog can relax more. He is a little calmer and doing well with the first exercises. We still have work to do, but after the first couple weeks he is doing well. I liked how this program is catered to each individual dog and their family and home.

    • #Other
  • Candice S.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Porter has been doing well with most of the training exercises. He has caught on quick with the leash training. After one day of working on the leash with him he is walking beside me and not pulling as much. Bark busters has taught me how to be more in control so porter can be a relaxed happy dog.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall