Bark Busters Des Moines Reviews

Reviews

274 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.91 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Shari C.
    6 years ago — Carlisle, IA

    Photo of Rayn Deb has worked with our 10 month old Collie, Rayn, for only one training session and we are already seeing amazing results! Rayn used to be a notorious counter-surfer along with jumping onto the table to try to steal food right off our plates while we were eating. We felt our only option was to keep her in her kennel every time we were in the kitchen. One day I didn't think to put her in the kennel while preparing lunch for the kids and Rayn snatched the sandwich bread straight out of my hand! I knew we needed professional help! Deb taught us extremely simple but effective lessons in how to change Rayn's behaviors. After only the very first day of implementing the "homework" that Deb assigned us, Rayn stayed quietly in the living room the entire time I prepared dinner and while we ate until we invited her back into the kitchen space. It was a miracle! Deb also helped us recognize that Rayn's constant pacing was a sign of her anxiety and it has already been significantly reduced in just a few days! We took Deb's excellent advice to keep Rayn's mind occupied and got her some new puzzle feeders which she loves. Thank you so much Deb! We highly recommend Deb and Bark Busters to anyone with an out of control dog like ours used to be!

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
  • Brian S.
    6 years ago — Clive, IA

    Deb was great and we immediately saw some changes in Oreo within our lesson. It has been just over a week and Oreo is already responding to the techniques Deb has given us. She was very confident in Oreo changing some of her issues with some hard work by us as owners.

    • #Digging
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Other
  • Debra R.
    6 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Photo of Margo Deb worked with me on enforcing behavior boundaries for my newly adopted 2 year old rescue dog, Margo. I wanted to have a well mannered dog that would fit in well with my family. Since I have been continuing to follow through with the training that Deb gave me, I have seen a significant change in my dog. I am now able to leave Margo unattended in the house and she doesn't bother anything. I can take her on walks and she doesn't pull towards other dogs. Margo isn't perfect, but she is 90% better than she was when we brought her home with us this last summer. We continue to work with her and I would recommend Bark Busters heartily to others in order to have the well behaved dog that makes us all happy pet owners.

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • Diane J.
    7 years ago — Prole, IA

    Deb did a great job working with Taco and gave us great exercises to work with him to continue to improve/reinforce good behavior. In many ways he is like a new dog!

    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Whitney R.
    7 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Photo of Rambo Deb has been an absolute game-changer for our dog and some of his worst behaviors- pulling on the leash, reactivity to other dogs. She has helped us reclaim our authority and given us confidence in managing our pitbull mix. I was obviously very hesitant to spend this much money but other training classes and methods just weren't getting the job done. BarkBusters has definitely been worth the money.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
  • LisaJo J.
    7 years ago — Waukee, IA

    Deb was professional and compassionate and clearly practices what she teaches! It was very helpful to have Deb train me so that I could work with Betsy and it has made a world of difference in my 6 year old, 4 lb Maltese. If you follow what she says to do and stick to the training exercises, you will see marked improvement. Deb also explains the reasoning behind the methods and it makes so much sense. I only wish I would have been able to use Bark Busters for all the other dogs I've had before Betsy! We are going to ask her to come back for some additional fine tuning and because of the Bark Buster way...this isn't an issue but instead part of the package.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other
  • Allen V.
    7 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Photo of Zoey We saw a significant improvement in our dog's behavior immediately. Bark Busters gave us the tools to be able to address our dog's behavior issues in a way that was easy for us and our children to learn. It's been a great experience!

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Puppy management
    • #Other
  • Paula W.
    7 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    My dog Ellie is a mini dachshund age 7. I adopted her as a rescue from Pet-finders at the age of 5. She has degenerative disk disease. We don't know the cause of her disability, but she's adapted to it and thrives. She is aggressive towards other dogs, we believe at least partially due to being bullied early on in her recovery. Taking Ellie outside for a walk was a battle, for her and for me. I decided we deserved training, but I knew that group classes would not work for us. I asked neighbors and friends about dog trainers they would recommend and that's how I found Deb Boswell and bark-busters. Deb came to our house and spent well over an hour talking to me about Ellie, what my expectations were, how much time and energy we could devote to training, how important consistency is etc.

    She taught me the "BAH" approach to getting Ellie's attention and breaking her bad habits. That has changed our lives. It's as if a new dog showed up at our house. I think what I like best about Deb and bark-busters is that we will have Debs help as long as we need it. We are learning things at our own pace, with Deb understanding that ordinary lives sometimes get very busy and training consistency suffers. We know we can contact Deb about any problem or concern. The individual attention is spot on for getting the results you want. Bark-busters is GREAT!!!!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Toileting
  • Joe K.
    7 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    Photo of Poe Deb is an incredible trainer! I'm always skeptical, but after one session and a few days of homework, I'm a believer. I wasn't racing a 50 pound dog up and down stairs or carefully opening doors to keep the dog from bolting. She is frank, insightful and truly understands - and can clearly communicate - what has to be done. In a short time, I have a calmer, better behaved dog. Deb is a wealth of information, gracious and accommodating to my crazy schedule. She is not only a wiz but a pleasure. If you need assistance training ... make the call and write the check. You won't be sorry!

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other
  • Kelly C.
    7 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    The techniques were easy and so helpful. Our dog responded right away. We were amazed, especially at the loose leash walking. Previously, we could only manage her using a prong collar. After one session, our great dane is waking on a leash, by our side, without pulling. She now waits to come out of her kennel and go out the door rather than charging forward. The techniques are kind and not punishment based. I highly recommend Bark busters!

    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other