Bark Busters Des Moines Reviews

Reviews

274 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.91 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Jessa S.
    8 years ago — Clive, IA

    Photo of Kato When we contacted Bark Busters we were at our breaking point with our 1 year old Bernese Mountain Dog, Kato. He had dragged me across the yard in the snow, and we were constantly scolding him for his obnoxious behavior. At times we could honestly say we didn't like him, and that made me feel terrible. At the first session I was amazed at how responsive Kato was to the training. Deb pointed out things we were doing that were encouraging Kato's behavior. The solutions to some of the behavior problems seemed so simple, but they work. Kato still has a lot of puppy in him, so training is definitely a work in progress, but his behavior is a night and day difference from a couple months ago.

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    Trainer Note:
    I am so pleased that you are now able to ENJOY Kato and that he is becoming the dog you wanted.
  • Joanne R.
    8 years ago — Newton, IA

    Deb did a nice job of explaining the bark buster philosophy and why it works so well. We have been very pleased with Maizy's response to the training. She is much more loving and responsive to my husband since we've followed Deb's suggestions.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you for you kind words! That Maizy stopped biting your family after our first lesson makes me happy for you all! You've done a great job with her!
  • Judy J.
    8 years ago — Clive, IA

    Photo of Willie Deb is an excellent trainer and Bark Busters a great training method. In less than a month we have seen significant improvement in Willie's behaviors and in ours too. We have 3 other dogs, 2 being seniors, and they love that he is no longer constantly biting and snapping at their ears and tails. I have done lots of different training over the years and can honestly say that I am very impressed with Bark Busters methods. Deb is wonderful to work with! I highly recommend Deb and Bark Busters!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you for your kind words. I commend you for working with Willie and teaching him boundaries while still a puppy. He's going to be a great dog!
  • Melissa H.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Photo of Mia I have a soft coated wheaten terrier puppy that is about 7 months old now. As many know, she is a hyper breed with lots of energy to burn! She loves to greet people by jumping up on them and licking them to death! Deb was great with, Mia. Once we started working with her it was easy to see that this was going to work! The very day that Deb came we saw great improvements in her jumping and lunging out the door to greet whatever awaits. At a recent holiday visit my dad even commented that Mia's jumping has greatly improved!! I love my puppy and want her to be well mannered! Deb is helping me achieve that goal!

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Oh, that is great! Thank you for your kind words - I am glad that you are continuing to see positive improvements. Mia IS going to be the well-mannered dog you want!
  • Steven B.
    8 years ago — Urbandale, IA

    Training with Debra Boswell had made life easier with Thor. He was totally out of control and with puppy classes and obedience 101 at various locations within the city, it just wasn't working. At 10 months, Thor is happier and so are we. Deb teaches "us" how to make the verbal commands and corrections and it works, like she told us, we started out with a dog that ran our lives, he was just one big juvenile delinquent. We are getting there, the investment made, was money well spent. Thank you Deb!

    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you so much for your kind words! I give both of you much credit for working with Thor - you've done an awesome job.
  • Joyce T.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Our trainer spent a lot of time training us during the first lesson before working with our dog. There was marked improvement before she even left the house. Our dog came to us with a few bad habits and oftentimes we had only reinforced that unwanted behavior. He had already learned sit, stay, etc. using treats but that didn't stop the unnecessary barking. Most of what other trainers taught us were not working and they were so arrogant about insisting their methods would work.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    I am so glad that you are seeing results so soon - it makes me happy for you!
  • Sarah C.
    8 years ago — Prairie City, IA

    Photo of Rupert Deb was great! She had a ton of information for me, was very patient with myself and Rupert, and gave me a lot of great tools for the road ahead. I feel like we have already taken several steps in the right direction....and we just started today! Because of Deb and her techniques, I feel that Rupert's full potential will be recognized through training. Now we can show everyone that there's a good dog under the mischievous outside!

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Chewing
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you, Sarah! Rupert is a smart boy and so worth the time and effort you put into the training!
  • Carleen C.
    8 years ago — Des Moines, IA

    Photo of Rhet Chance I was very impressed with the beginning of training. Rhet responded well immediately to Deb's exercises. I was comfortable with everything we practiced and have been doing my homework with Rhet to follow through with his lessons. Easy to follow and very effective training! I am very pleased and highly recommend Deb Boswell as a trainer.

    • #Barking
    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    Trainer Note:
    So, happy to know that you are pleased with the training! I'll see you both again, soon.
  • Cheryl S.
    8 years ago — Huxley, IA

    What a blessing to have Deb come to our house! She was a wealth of information. Her expertise really helped us with our lab, Chocolate. We got him from the Animal Rescue League and hated the thought of returning him. Since her help we have made wonderful strides with much less barking, less jumping and not to mention being "pulled down the street" when walking. Words can't express the services of Deb. If you are in need of help training your dog, in my opinion, Deb at Bark Busters is definitely an option you should consider.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    Trainer Note:
    Thank you, Cheryl! I am so happy that you are finding more peace with Chocolate. What a nice, nice dog he is!! He's lucky to have you!
  • Hilary W.
    8 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Deb provided concrete, straight forward training for me to use with Jessie. Her calm demeanor and patience put both Jessie and I at ease. She is very intuitive and has lots of insight into both human and dog behaviors. The information provided is practical and not difficult to put into play. I especially appreciated use of the game changer and information about a grain free diet.

    Jessie's barking is almost non existent after just a few days and we are working on sit/stay before I walk down stairs. What a relief! I highly recommend Bark Busters and more specifically Deb as a trrainer!

    • #Barking
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    I am so happy that Jessie is doing so well. Getting beyond some of those behaviors will make ALL of you happier! Thank you!