Bark Busters Des Moines Reviews

Reviews

274 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.91 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    We decided to get our 2nd Great Dane after our first was such an angel. Winbley, our first, was so sweet and easy to train. We learned, however, that was not the case with all Danes! Kira, our 2nd, was a challenge from the beginning because she grew much faster than Winbley and had way more energy! It was really hard to control her, she had a dominant temperament, barked at everything, jumped on people, and lunged at little boys and babies. We didn't know how we were going to make a change! We took Kira to whole group training classes and had no luck! It seemed too basic and didn't address the problems we were having. We were actually told by our first trainer that we needed to get rid of her because there was no hope and she would corupt Winbley. We didnt stand for that because we knew she was a capable dog and we were the ones who didn't know how to handle her correctly. We werent doing her justice. Which is why finding Bark Busters was a miracle! Finally, a trainer who saw the good in Kira, wasn't fearful of her size, and made training easy for us. From the first day we met Deb, I had sooo much hope! It all made sense and I knew we were going to get through this. She made things very clear and seemed to have a way to handle anything! What I appreciate about Deb is that she doesn't move too fast. She works at our pace and Kira's. She wants to make sure the training sticks! We made progress the first day working with her and I felt we were seeing more good in Kira than before. I love the positive spin of this training method and how It focuses on what Kira does right. I catch myself praising her much more than before. After our first visit, I felt I knew exactly what to do because i understood her body language, but we did have some challenges because Kira wasn't picking things up quite as fast as I thought she would. This was frustrating. I think I expected miracles and that was not realistic, however, we were making progress in the right direction. Deb later told me to call her anytime we didn't feel things were going well. When she came back for the follow up she got us back on track and again we were so impressed with the growth Kira had made. Now, We have our 3rd visit around the corner, Kira is a much better listener, she is respecting us more, she barks less, and interacts with our guests better. We look forward to tackling our biggest problem of all, lunging at little boys, people holding babies, and people scared of her as we continue to work with Deb. I have all the hope we will overcome this with Deb's help because Kira is already less agitated around people. Thanks Bark Busters and Deb!

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    The barking was driving us nuts! Thanks to Deb, we've seen a huge improvement. Gracie not only barks less but she is much calmer and well behaved! We can now walk Gracie rather than Gracie walking us!!

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Photo of Deb spent 3 hours with us the first night. Roxy and Romeo responded very well. We saw MAJOR improvements! The techniques work! When our daughter would visit she would be flattened by these 2 boxers. Last night they were like totally different dogs. She was amazed. Deb takes time to understand each of our concerns and focused on each individual problem, and each dog. We are learning to change our habits and become better dog owners. This training is so worth it!! We are more than pleased !!

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Photo of Deb is a miracle worker. We saw results immediately. Our collie was a pacing barking mess when Deb first arrived. A couple hours later he was calm, quiet and he stayed that way for a number of days. Deb left us with some insight, some training and a few tools to help us. During the 2 weeks on our own we made some progress and were really ready for Deb's follow up visit--and so was our collie--he was going to show all of us that no one was the boss of him and that he could bark like a crazy dog and drag us down the street. Deb was patient, kind and determined and the Bark Busters training methods are brilliant. We thought we'd never get our dog to behave. This system works and Deb is a fabulous coach. Best money we ever spent.

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Photo of Henry is doing very well! I talked with my neighbor and he said that he hasn't heard a sound from him in weeks! I don't have to use the Thundershirt when he's in the kennel anymore and I don't have to pick him up and put him in the kennel. He has no problem going in on his own. I've actually caught him going in there on his own when I'm getting ready for work. He is much calmer when I come home and he's doing very well with the no jumping on me. He's understanding that he doesn't get things when he wants them, but when I'm ready to give them to him. He's started taking bones or toys out of his kennel when I'm busy with something and chewing on those for awhile instead of just following me around. I've even caught him with some cat toys! Next I would like to work on walking outside with him. He does fairly decent but if we pass someone or he sees someone or another dog he gets all worked up. Thanks so much for your help!

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Photo of Before Bark Busters I couldn't get Boomer to do anything but by the time Deb left from the very first lesson we were making progress. The natural type of training is excellent. I love that it is only through praise and not treats or being mean. I would recommend Bark Busters - they are the only place I would recommend.

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Deb was fantastic to work with! Her knowledge, pleasant disposition and genuine care and concern for dogs and their families was commendable. She was responsive to all our questions and concerns, spent time with us not only teaching but explaining. What she taught us truly worked! Our puppy has significantly improved since we first started 2 months ago. I highly recommend Deb!

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    My Fiancé and I have a German Short Haired Pointer/ Lab Mix, named Bruce, who we had rescued from our local shelter. He wasn't a bad dog but he was ruff around the edges. He would jump on people and was very hyper. He also would growl at my fiancé when I wasn't home. After our first session and doing our homework, he has stopped jumping has drastically calmed down and as of this morning he walked right beside me, something I never thought would occur. He also hasn't growled ate my fiancé since the first session.

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Photo of Deb has been wonderful and very helpful. We love our dog but he has behavioral issues and we were lost at how to help Max. Max is now 6.5 months old and all but one issue is resolved! She really understands dogs and notices things we did not even realize. She also has been good at keeping us consistent with training and on track. I know she is there for us and highly recommend her.

  • Anonymous
    12 years ago — Greater Des Moines, Iowa

    Yes, I would recommend Bark Busters Home Dog Training. It was a pleasure to work with Deb and I look forward to future sessions. Deb made the training easy to follow and understand.