Bark Busters Des Moines Reviews

Reviews

277 Reviews ★★★★★(Average 4.91 out of 5)

Privacy and use of your review

Bark Busters would like to tell others about your experience. We never publish your details. Only your initials and general location are used. All other information that you have provided remain confidential.

  • Carol M.
    9 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    We had adopted two dogs from a rescue group and had been trying to teach them good manners using the clicker/treat method of training. It was not working. We contacted Bark Busters hoping that in-home training would be better. In just one lesson our dogs have stopped jumping on us for attention. Their demeanor has changed. We now feel in control of their actions not the other way around. When you meet Deb she is calm, quiet and you wonder how is this person going to be able to work with your out of control dogs. It is exactly that calm way of handling your pets that makes it work. We can't wait to see what we can accomplish in the next session.

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
  • Sandy M.
    9 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Deb Boswell was excellent. She came to my daughter's home to train her dog. She was very educated with dogs and the training process. She was there for at least three hours and my daughter and I were so impressed what she had her dog doing and "not" doing. I literally sat there in awe. So glad we found Bark Busters and Deb. So worth the money.
    Thanks Deb!

    • #Hyperactivity
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Toileting
  • Patricia T.
    9 years ago — Waukee, IA

    Photo of Cisco, Carly, Jasper, Holly I am so lucky to have met Deb Boswell. She came into a home with 4 dogs and by the time she left I could already tell that the dogs better understood my "rank" in the pack. I have been working with them for 3 days now and barking is down to a minimum. We still have not come to an understanding on the doorbell ringing thing, but I am certain with training and reinforcement we will one day achieve the barkless doorbell. I can't wait to see Deb again and show her our progress.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Toileting
  • Pat R.
    9 years ago — Urbandale, IA

    Deb was great. She taught us some methods to better communicate with our 6 month old German Short Hair Pointer Lottie. She is showing us how to regain pack leadership, and Lottie is not quite sure about all these changes. We are already seeing some improvement on her jumping up on us, and her counter surfing. We will continue to do our daily homework to achieve positive results. I love the idea of the In Home training, because Deb was able to see the actual behaviors we want to change. She is very knowledgeable and has a calming manner. We are looking forced to our next visit.

    • #Digging
    • #Jumping up
    • #Puppy management
    • #Recall
    • #Other
    Trainer Note:
    Lottie is a great dog! I am so happy to hear that you are seeing positive changes in her behavior in less than 24 hours after the first lesson. She's a smart girl and you can be commended for seeking help with her "puppiness". I can't wait to see you all again in a short couple of weeks.
  • Cheryl M.
    9 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Today is 1 day after our first training session. There is a world of difference. Although Sochi was still jumping on people, she is learning and doing much better. She has already learned to stay back from the front door when the doorbell rings. She is doing much better at not barking during separation. And, we walked through Petco today with much less stress and anxiety. She was actually under control! I could tell immediately this morning that Sochi was expecting to be treated differently and she is doing great with it!

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Recall
    • #Separation anxiety
  • Jonas and Julie H.
    9 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Simple, common sense rules to follow to help our dog become successful. We saw results immediately!

    • #Other
  • Carolyn F.
    9 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Thank you so much to Deb Boswell for her helpful training and information. Chance had bitten me so many times I was terrified of him. Thanks to Deb, we now have a pet we are proud to have in our home.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Recall
    • #Sibling rivalry
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Toileting
  • Nicole H.
    9 years ago — Johnston, IA

    Photo of Cooper Our dog suffers from anxiety, and because of his anxiety he was acting out. We were a little skeptical of the training at first since our dog is 7. However, after our first session and the following 2 weeks Cooper was doing things he had never done before. Going to a bed and staying, not following us from room to room, no more marking, and less barking at other people/dogs. We still have work to do, but we are getting there. Turns out we needed more training than Cooper. Deb never made it feel like it was our fault, And made us feel like there was hope. We appreciate everything she has done so far, and look forward to the rest of the training.

    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
    • #Pulling
    • #Separation anxiety
    • #Toileting
  • Marianne W.
    9 years ago — West Des Moines, IA

    Deb gave us valuable advice and techniques on how to train our dog, Kevin, to stop jumping on people and various other annoying habits. She explained everything thoroughly and demonstrated the various exercises she uses to train dogs. She suggested various products to aid in the training, all of which have been very helpful. Most of what she taught us was how WE should behave, not necessarily the dog.

    • #Aggression
    • #Barking
    • #Jumping up
  • Daryl R.
    9 years ago — Ankeny, IA

    Photo of Belle My name is Dr. Daryl Rauser, I am a veterinarian and owner of Healing Paws Veterinary Clinic in Ankeny. Debra was very professional and helpful with our dog Belle's problem of excessive barking. She came in our home and observed the unwanted behavior and then helped us to understand why it was happening and how we should deal with it. After the first few weeks we have seen a huge improvement and Belle has enjoyed the extra attention/training. I would highly recommend Debra and Bark Buster's to anyone struggling with behavior issues.

    • #Barking