Deb Boswell dog training reviews

Deb Boswell

Deb Boswell

Filter these results to find reviews related to behavior problems of interest:
Kim J
Kim J Ankeny, Iowa | April 04 2015
We came to Debra after having worked with a local shelter's behaviorists. After that visit were feeling lost as we were told that our lovely little dog, Tiger cannot be corrected and eventually have to be re-homed or humanely euthanized as agression cannot be fixed but sometimes can be modified. He had shown a bit of aggressive behavior which had just started in the 6 months or so with charging and barking at our child and visitors, as well as some resource guarding. He's 3 years old and we have had him since he was about 12 weeks old. We took puppy training classes and thought we were doing right by our dog. After that meeting, we scratched our heads, we didn't want to give him back to the shelter or humanely euthanize him; that was just too extreme as he has not attacked anyone but the signs were there that this behavior could escalate. We reached out to Bark Busters and Debra Boswell. At her first visit, working with the suggestions she provided, we saw a change immediately. But, doubt was there. Will it work? Is our dog really changed for the better? Will he change back? After our first meeting with Debra, we know that we have to maintain consistency, work with the training suggestions provided and keep it up, which we are happy to do. Since then, we have seen wonderful changes in Tiger. Even though we don't have many guests visit our home, we incorporated information she shared and tried expanding our training to include visitors coming to the door. We are impressed already as our dog wasn't barking at people walking down the block, across the street, nowhere near out home. So, why not try for people coming to the doorway. When Debra came back for a follow up session and additional training work, we practiced what she told us and our dog was surprisingly not barking his head off at a car in the driveway and running up and down the stairs to the doorway like a wild beast. He stayed as he should, didn't seem to have anxiety and was quiet. That was a first! We are very glad to have taken that next step to work with Bark Busters and Debra to help keep our little fur baby in the house and keep us and the neighbors safe from a wildly barking machine! His whole attitude seems to have changed. Is he perfectly behaved? Not yet, but it's been a night vs. day change. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall
Megan M
Megan M Ankeny, Iowa | March 30 2015
We called Bark Busters to help us with our 2-year old bloodhound's fear and anxiety relating to people visiting our house. Paige has always been friendly with strangers she meets on walks, or in parks, pet stores, Farmer's Market, etc, but since we moved to a new house in the Summer, my husband and I had noticed Paige becoming increasingly anxious when people she didn't know would come to visit. It seemed to be a very uncomfortable experience for both pup and visitors! Deb Boswell came to see us in early February and while I was nervous for how Paige would react to a new stranger in the house, I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised with how she reacted to Deb's visit, which I credit completely to Deb's understanding of how to interact with dogs. She allowed Paige to come to her at her own discretion and did not force interaction with Paige, which allowed Paige to assess Deb on her own terms and feel comfortable on her own. During the first lesson, Deb evaluated Paige's behavior and pointed out some of her behaviors which indicate she sees herself as the pack leader, rather than my husband and I. Deb gave us some insight into how dogs view social hierarchy and the importance of the pack leader role. In the last two years, we believed everything we did for our dog was to show her that she was loved and a member of the family, but in reality, we have reinforced in her mind that she is running the show. We now feel that we have the understanding critical to help Paige realize that she does not have to be the "head of security" of the house, and that she can just relax and be a dog. While we know we have many months of consistent training work to do with Paige, we have already noticed an improvement in her greeting strangers at the house, following us instead of leading on walks, and allowing my husband and I to take on the leadership role. Many many thanks to Deb and Bark Busters for their great work and continued support! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Kayce C JOhnston, Iowa | March 27 2015
Claire is a whole new dog, never did I think that after 1 lesson that my dog would listen to me and obey as well as she did. Bark busters not only trained my dog but trained me and my way of thinking to better understand my dog and why she was reacting to things the way she did. Bark Busters worked with my husband and I and helped us manage all of our dogs little quirks that were driving us CRAZY! I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. We talk about our dog training all the time. Best Dog and owner training EVER! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
review image
Carol M Ankeny, Iowa | March 20 2015
We had adopted two dogs from a rescue group and had been trying to teach them good manners using the clicker/treat method of training. It was not working. We contacted Bark Busters hoping that in-home training would be better. In just one lesson our dogs have stopped jumping on us for attention. Their demeanor has changed. We now feel in control of their actions not the other way around. When you meet Deb she is calm, quiet and you wonder how is this person going to be able to work with your out of control dogs. It is exactly that calm way of handling your pets that makes it work. We can't wait to see what we can accomplish in the next session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Sandy M West Des Moines, Iowa | March 09 2015
Deb Boswell was excellent. She came to my daughter's home to train her dog. She was very educated with dogs and the training process. She was there for at least three hours and my daughter and I were so impressed what she had her dog doing and "not" doing. I literally sat there in awe. So glad we found Bark Busters and Deb. So worth the money. Thanks Deb! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting
Patricia T
Patricia T Waukee, Iowa | March 03 2015
I am so lucky to have met Deb Boswell. She came into a home with 4 dogs and by the time she left I could already tell that the dogs better understood my "rank" in the pack. I have been working with them for 3 days now and barking is down to a minimum. We still have not come to an understanding on the doorbell ringing thing, but I am certain with training and reinforcement we will one day achieve the barkless doorbell. I can't wait to see Deb again and show her our progress. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Toileting
review image
Pat R Urbandale, Iowa | February 27 2015
Deb was great. She taught us some methods to better communicate with our 6 month old German Short Hair Pointer Lottie. She is showing us how to regain pack leadership, and Lottie is not quite sure about all these changes. We are already seeing some improvement on her jumping up on us, and her counter surfing. We will continue to do our daily homework to achieve positive results. I love the idea of the In Home training, because Deb was able to see the actual behaviors we want to change. She is very knowledgeable and has a calming manner. We are looking forced to our next visit. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Digging, Jumping up, Other, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Deb : Lottie is a great dog! I am so happy to hear that you are seeing positive changes in her behavior in less than 24 hours after the first lesson. She's a smart girl and you can be commended for seeking help with her "puppiness". I can't wait to see you all again in a short couple of weeks.
review image
Cheryl M West Des Moines, Iowa | February 15 2015
Today is 1 day after our first training session. There is a world of difference. Although Sochi was still jumping on people, she is learning and doing much better. She has already learned to stay back from the front door when the doorbell rings. She is doing much better at not barking during separation. And, we walked through Petco today with much less stress and anxiety. She was actually under control! I could tell immediately this morning that Sochi was expecting to be treated differently and she is doing great with it! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Recall, Separation anxiety
review image
Jonas and Julie H West Des Moines, Iowa | February 08 2015
Simple, common sense rules to follow to help our dog become successful. We saw results immediately! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other
review image
Carolyn F West Des Moines, Iowa | February 08 2015
Thank you so much to Deb Boswell for her helpful training and information. Chance had bitten me so many times I was terrified of him. Thanks to Deb, we now have a pet we are proud to have in our home. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter