Deb Boswell dog training reviews

Deb Boswell

Deb Boswell

See below for all reviews for Deb Boswell, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Marianna H
Marianna H Des Moines, Iowa | May 10 2015
Deb took the time to listen to the issues I have had with my dogs and focus on the proper training. After the first session with Deb, Louie's barking at the front door and at every person and dog walking past the house has completely stopped. My friends are amazed that his behavior has changed and he isn't barking or jumping on them! I do need to focus on Lassa's barking but believe that can also be controlled. Thank you for the great training!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
review image
Roxann L West Des Moines, Iowa | May 07 2015
We are so grateful to Deb for teaching us to manage/train our Old English Sheepdog puppy Willow. After just one session Deb had her responding to us and was no longer a problem when entering and leaving our home. Now sitting and staying and verbal commands are respected not ignored by our puppy of 5 months. It was so exciting to work with Deb and learn how a few simple tricks could make our lives and Willow's so much happier. A well mannered dog is loved by everyone!! Thanks Deb!! Willow loves you and so do we!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you for your kind words. Willow is so worth your commitment in helping her to be a happy, well-behaved dog!
review image
Lisa G Des Moines, Iowa | April 29 2015
After Debra's first visit the change we have seen in our 8 month old lab/border collie mix, Skyler, is astounding. As a "teenager" Skyler began displaying some new behaviors that we were not having any success at managing. After one session with Debra Skyler's barking at the front door like a maniac at every person, animal, car or sound has completely stopped. Skyler did well with the Door Programming Exercise and it really is magic! We have all but eliminated the periodic rough mouthing that was creating bruises on my arms. Debra helped us understand how Skyler's behavior that we thought was sweet and cute (coming up to us and plopping over on her back for a belly rub) was her way of controlling us by demanding attention on her terms. Now that we understand this as attention-seeking and demanding behavior we appreciate Deb's guidance re: being in control of interactions to position ourselves as her leader.Our biggest challenge had been walking on a loose leash. With the techniques Debra showed us we have made great improvement and I don't feel as though my shoulder is going to be dislocated from the pulling and lunging that was previously happening. As I am sitting here watching my puppy stand quietly at the front door watching kids playing and just calmly observing the activity of the neighborhood I feel a sense of relief and peace. Thanks to Debra and the training techniques we were taught in just one session I have hope that we can conquer the frustrating and stressful puppy behavior that has become so difficult to manage. Can't wait for Debra's next visit! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Vicki O
Vicki O Des Moines, Iowa | April 16 2015
We were very pleased with our first visit with Deb. She took great care to make sure that we understood the training methods of Bark Busters and the ensuing training we would be working on with Rydr for the next two weeks until she returns--very patient lady as we are learning some new "tricks". We look forward to developing our relationship with Deb and watching our sweet boy become all he can be as we fine tune our ability to "speak dog". Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Linda E
Linda E Urbandale, Iowa | April 05 2015
My husband, Shannon and I had our first class with Deb yesterday & it went very well. I was the skeptic who is now a believer. Deb explained the thought process behind the training and told us "I am not going to train your dog" which is true ~ we will do it with her training of us and guidance. After one session we could notice improvement. We were both amazed! Looking so forward to working with Deb!!! We can do this ~ very impressed and pleased with the program and Deb. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, you CAN do it and Shannon is so worth it!
Kim J
Kim J Ankeny, Iowa | April 04 2015
We came to Debra after having worked with a local shelter's behaviorists. After that visit were feeling lost as we were told that our lovely little dog, Tiger cannot be corrected and eventually have to be re-homed or humanely euthanized as agression cannot be fixed but sometimes can be modified. He had shown a bit of aggressive behavior which had just started in the 6 months or so with charging and barking at our child and visitors, as well as some resource guarding. He's 3 years old and we have had him since he was about 12 weeks old. We took puppy training classes and thought we were doing right by our dog. After that meeting, we scratched our heads, we didn't want to give him back to the shelter or humanely euthanize him; that was just too extreme as he has not attacked anyone but the signs were there that this behavior could escalate. We reached out to Bark Busters and Debra Boswell. At her first visit, working with the suggestions she provided, we saw a change immediately. But, doubt was there. Will it work? Is our dog really changed for the better? Will he change back? After our first meeting with Debra, we know that we have to maintain consistency, work with the training suggestions provided and keep it up, which we are happy to do. Since then, we have seen wonderful changes in Tiger. Even though we don't have many guests visit our home, we incorporated information she shared and tried expanding our training to include visitors coming to the door. We are impressed already as our dog wasn't barking at people walking down the block, across the street, nowhere near out home. So, why not try for people coming to the doorway. When Debra came back for a follow up session and additional training work, we practiced what she told us and our dog was surprisingly not barking his head off at a car in the driveway and running up and down the stairs to the doorway like a wild beast. He stayed as he should, didn't seem to have anxiety and was quiet. That was a first! We are very glad to have taken that next step to work with Bark Busters and Debra to help keep our little fur baby in the house and keep us and the neighbors safe from a wildly barking machine! His whole attitude seems to have changed. Is he perfectly behaved? Not yet, but it's been a night vs. day change. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall
Megan M
Megan M Ankeny, Iowa | March 30 2015
We called Bark Busters to help us with our 2-year old bloodhound's fear and anxiety relating to people visiting our house. Paige has always been friendly with strangers she meets on walks, or in parks, pet stores, Farmer's Market, etc, but since we moved to a new house in the Summer, my husband and I had noticed Paige becoming increasingly anxious when people she didn't know would come to visit. It seemed to be a very uncomfortable experience for both pup and visitors! Deb Boswell came to see us in early February and while I was nervous for how Paige would react to a new stranger in the house, I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised with how she reacted to Deb's visit, which I credit completely to Deb's understanding of how to interact with dogs. She allowed Paige to come to her at her own discretion and did not force interaction with Paige, which allowed Paige to assess Deb on her own terms and feel comfortable on her own. During the first lesson, Deb evaluated Paige's behavior and pointed out some of her behaviors which indicate she sees herself as the pack leader, rather than my husband and I. Deb gave us some insight into how dogs view social hierarchy and the importance of the pack leader role. In the last two years, we believed everything we did for our dog was to show her that she was loved and a member of the family, but in reality, we have reinforced in her mind that she is running the show. We now feel that we have the understanding critical to help Paige realize that she does not have to be the "head of security" of the house, and that she can just relax and be a dog. While we know we have many months of consistent training work to do with Paige, we have already noticed an improvement in her greeting strangers at the house, following us instead of leading on walks, and allowing my husband and I to take on the leadership role. Many many thanks to Deb and Bark Busters for their great work and continued support! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Kayce C JOhnston, Iowa | March 27 2015
Claire is a whole new dog, never did I think that after 1 lesson that my dog would listen to me and obey as well as she did. Bark busters not only trained my dog but trained me and my way of thinking to better understand my dog and why she was reacting to things the way she did. Bark Busters worked with my husband and I and helped us manage all of our dogs little quirks that were driving us CRAZY! I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. We talk about our dog training all the time. Best Dog and owner training EVER! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
review image
Carol M Ankeny, Iowa | March 20 2015
We had adopted two dogs from a rescue group and had been trying to teach them good manners using the clicker/treat method of training. It was not working. We contacted Bark Busters hoping that in-home training would be better. In just one lesson our dogs have stopped jumping on us for attention. Their demeanor has changed. We now feel in control of their actions not the other way around. When you meet Deb she is calm, quiet and you wonder how is this person going to be able to work with your out of control dogs. It is exactly that calm way of handling your pets that makes it work. We can't wait to see what we can accomplish in the next session. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
review image
Sandy M West Des Moines, Iowa | March 09 2015
Deb Boswell was excellent. She came to my daughter's home to train her dog. She was very educated with dogs and the training process. She was there for at least three hours and my daughter and I were so impressed what she had her dog doing and "not" doing. I literally sat there in awe. So glad we found Bark Busters and Deb. So worth the money. Thanks Deb! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall, Separation anxiety, Toileting

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter