Deb Boswell dog training reviews

Deb Boswell

Expert Dog Trainer, Deb Boswell

See below for all reviews for Deb Boswell, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Laura L Johnston, Iowa | June 21 2015
We started seeing immediate results with some pretty simple changes in how we interact with our dog. Spencer was barking and charging at the door, overprotective, sometimes nipping at visitors, and always pacing. A thunderstorm or fireworks would have him and us up all night and very anxious. Deb taught me how to take charge of the dog as the leader, and this immediately let Spencer relax and become much calmer. We started seeing changes within a day. While I realize that to gain full benefit of the training techniques requires consistent and some longer term work on my part, I have a path to a solution. Thank you Deb ! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Other, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Deb : I am so happy that Spencer is calmer. You have done an awesome job of working with him!
Alicia A
Alicia A Des Moines, Iowa | June 04 2015
I am so pleased to have found Bark Busters and Deb! Even after only a few days my TaterTot has started to behave better. I can cook and eat a whole meal without stepping on him and worrying about him stealing and begging. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall, Separation anxiety
Trainer note from Deb : I am so happy that you are having success and appreciate your kind words!
review image
Alison S West Des Moines, Iowa | June 04 2015
Deb was phenomenal. She explained to us the way Chloe thinks, and then had us immediately start working with her. The results were nearly immediate! I never thought we'd get Chloe to stop jumping, but when we woke up today, her jumping was at a minimum! We can't thank Deb enough for giving us our sanity back and showing us how we can help our dog. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Other, Puppy management
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you for your kind words - less than 24 hours after our first session! Chloe is a great dog and your commitment to her is going to pay off BIG time!!
review image
Holly H Des Moines, Iowa | June 02 2015
Deb did an excellent job of coming in and explaining to us the mind set of a dog and how to communicate with them. We were having some aggression issues with one of the dogs and focus issues with the other two. We saw results right away the first day she came and are still seeing improvements each time we work with them. I am excited for follow up visits and more training lessons with Deb! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Separation anxiety
Marianna H
Marianna H Des Moines, Iowa | May 10 2015
Deb took the time to listen to the issues I have had with my dogs and focus on the proper training. After the first session with Deb, Louie's barking at the front door and at every person and dog walking past the house has completely stopped. My friends are amazed that his behavior has changed and he isn't barking or jumping on them! I do need to focus on Lassa's barking but believe that can also be controlled. Thank you for the great training!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up
review image
Roxann L West Des Moines, Iowa | May 07 2015
We are so grateful to Deb for teaching us to manage/train our Old English Sheepdog puppy Willow. After just one session Deb had her responding to us and was no longer a problem when entering and leaving our home. Now sitting and staying and verbal commands are respected not ignored by our puppy of 5 months. It was so exciting to work with Deb and learn how a few simple tricks could make our lives and Willow's so much happier. A well mannered dog is loved by everyone!! Thanks Deb!! Willow loves you and so do we!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Puppy management
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you for your kind words. Willow is so worth your commitment in helping her to be a happy, well-behaved dog!
review image
Lisa G Des Moines, Iowa | April 29 2015
After Debra's first visit the change we have seen in our 8 month old lab/border collie mix, Skyler, is astounding. As a "teenager" Skyler began displaying some new behaviors that we were not having any success at managing. After one session with Debra Skyler's barking at the front door like a maniac at every person, animal, car or sound has completely stopped. Skyler did well with the Door Programming Exercise and it really is magic! We have all but eliminated the periodic rough mouthing that was creating bruises on my arms. Debra helped us understand how Skyler's behavior that we thought was sweet and cute (coming up to us and plopping over on her back for a belly rub) was her way of controlling us by demanding attention on her terms. Now that we understand this as attention-seeking and demanding behavior we appreciate Deb's guidance re: being in control of interactions to position ourselves as her leader.Our biggest challenge had been walking on a loose leash. With the techniques Debra showed us we have made great improvement and I don't feel as though my shoulder is going to be dislocated from the pulling and lunging that was previously happening. As I am sitting here watching my puppy stand quietly at the front door watching kids playing and just calmly observing the activity of the neighborhood I feel a sense of relief and peace. Thanks to Debra and the training techniques we were taught in just one session I have hope that we can conquer the frustrating and stressful puppy behavior that has become so difficult to manage. Can't wait for Debra's next visit! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Pulling, Recall
Vicki O
Vicki O Des Moines, Iowa | April 16 2015
We were very pleased with our first visit with Deb. She took great care to make sure that we understood the training methods of Bark Busters and the ensuing training we would be working on with Rydr for the next two weeks until she returns--very patient lady as we are learning some new "tricks". We look forward to developing our relationship with Deb and watching our sweet boy become all he can be as we fine tune our ability to "speak dog". Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
Linda E
Linda E Urbandale, Iowa | April 05 2015
My husband, Shannon and I had our first class with Deb yesterday & it went very well. I was the skeptic who is now a believer. Deb explained the thought process behind the training and told us "I am not going to train your dog" which is true ~ we will do it with her training of us and guidance. After one session we could notice improvement. We were both amazed! Looking so forward to working with Deb!!! We can do this ~ very impressed and pleased with the program and Deb. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Jumping up, Puppy management, Recall
Trainer note from Deb : Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, you CAN do it and Shannon is so worth it!
Kim J
Kim J Ankeny, Iowa | April 04 2015
We came to Debra after having worked with a local shelter's behaviorists. After that visit were feeling lost as we were told that our lovely little dog, Tiger cannot be corrected and eventually have to be re-homed or humanely euthanized as agression cannot be fixed but sometimes can be modified. He had shown a bit of aggressive behavior which had just started in the 6 months or so with charging and barking at our child and visitors, as well as some resource guarding. He's 3 years old and we have had him since he was about 12 weeks old. We took puppy training classes and thought we were doing right by our dog. After that meeting, we scratched our heads, we didn't want to give him back to the shelter or humanely euthanize him; that was just too extreme as he has not attacked anyone but the signs were there that this behavior could escalate. We reached out to Bark Busters and Debra Boswell. At her first visit, working with the suggestions she provided, we saw a change immediately. But, doubt was there. Will it work? Is our dog really changed for the better? Will he change back? After our first meeting with Debra, we know that we have to maintain consistency, work with the training suggestions provided and keep it up, which we are happy to do. Since then, we have seen wonderful changes in Tiger. Even though we don't have many guests visit our home, we incorporated information she shared and tried expanding our training to include visitors coming to the door. We are impressed already as our dog wasn't barking at people walking down the block, across the street, nowhere near out home. So, why not try for people coming to the doorway. When Debra came back for a follow up session and additional training work, we practiced what she told us and our dog was surprisingly not barking his head off at a car in the driveway and running up and down the stairs to the doorway like a wild beast. He stayed as he should, didn't seem to have anxiety and was quiet. That was a first! We are very glad to have taken that next step to work with Bark Busters and Debra to help keep our little fur baby in the house and keep us and the neighbors safe from a wildly barking machine! His whole attitude seems to have changed. Is he perfectly behaved? Not yet, but it's been a night vs. day change. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Recall

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter