Michael DiStassio dog training reviews

Michael DiStassio

Expert Dog Trainer, Michael DiStassio

See below for all reviews for Michael DiStassio, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
review image
Frank A Ansonia, New Haven, Connecticut | November 03 2019
Michael is very professional and clear with his instructions. He makes the training easy to grasp for the owners but it is extremely effective and most importantly it is not harmful or abusive to your pet. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Separation anxiety
Megan C
Megan C Ansonia, New Haven, Connecticut | October 14 2019
I am so pleased with Michael being our dog trainer. Everything he taught me was such a good natural way to train Aries where she understands and listens! It has been three days of working on her training and she has improved significantly around the house! I finally feel confident to bring her out and about again! Thank you so much Michael! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling
review image
Michele S Hamden, New Haven, Connecticut | October 09 2019
Michael was very friendly and professional during the entire first visit. He was patient with us and took his time to go over all the details. I will highly recommend this experience to family and friends in need of this service! Thank you!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
Jason R
Jason R Milford, New Haven, Connecticut | September 28 2019
Michael made my wife and I feel so comfortable with introducing our newborn daughter to our dog. We both were beyond nervous as to how our dog would react to our baby since our dog has a bit of history. Michael was extremely hands on and really modeled the appropriate way on how to correct our dog's behavior. It is quite a lot of work, but the training has allowed us to see that it will get better. Our dog has responded well to the training techniques and equipment that Michael provided us. Our newborn has been in the house for only a week, and it feels like night and day with how much she has improved. Keep up the great work Michael! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Other, Separation anxiety
review image
Sally M Cheshire, New Haven, Connecticut | September 27 2019
Michael did a great job at our first lesson making us feel at ease. I was very nervous about another trainer as we have had several in the past, which didn't seem to work. But Michael went through the information and was very relaxed and confident that this would work. I also liked that Michael made himself available at any time via phone or email so I knew that if any question came up, I could contact him. The training is already working! I look forward to meeting with Michael again to continue with outside/leash training and car training. Thanks Michael!! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Hyperactivity, Separation anxiety
review image
Doreen D Naugatuck, New Haven, Connecticut | September 19 2019
I have a 3 year old shepherd (115 lbs) who has been leash aggressive. Duke and I went through a few trainers and I was using a prong collar and still he pulled and He excessively barked at everything. He ran around the house and yard out of control. When Michael came here he explained that because I was not showing my dog that I was the boss, duke felt always on alert as my protector. Within our first 15 minutes of training, duke actually calmed down noticeably. I was amazed! I am practicing at home on day 2 and he is like a changed dog! I look forward to continuing on this road with the training as Duke seems so calm which makes me calm. Highly recommend! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Pulling
review image
Brittany W Woodbridge, New Haven, Connecticut | August 29 2019
We chose to go with Bark Busters to help us with our 4 month old mini labradoodle, Bailey. Our first meeting went great! Michael showed up on time, ready to help us out! Michael stayed at our home for about 2 hours and nothing felt rushed! It was great that he explained to us techniques that should work, but had us implement them with Bailey instead of him taking the reigns. We enjoyed the hands on experience. It was helpful to us that not only he assured us that we were doing it right, but that we would have support once he left. Towards the end of our meeting, he went over the "homework" we had and what our next meeting would entail. He even called us the next day to check up on how Bailey was doing. I'm so glad that he is readily available to us if we have any questions. Couldn't' recommend Bark Busters enough! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Jumping up, Puppy management, Separation anxiety
review image
Tracy D East Haven, New Haven, Connecticut | August 28 2019
Michael from Southern CT Bark Busters came out to teach us how to train our new puppy, Kali. He spent 3 hours sharing the philosophy and techniques of how to train her without pain, punishment or treats - and it’s working!! Kali is an extremely high energy, playful, 15 week old rescue puppy who was nipping, chewing and lunge biting beyond control. Michael has given us some tools that work, allowing us to include Kali, as we imagined when we adopted her, in most of our activities. The very day after Michael’s first visit, our 3 children (ages 2, 8 and 10) came for 2 days and wow! We were AMAZED with how well Kali responded to the ways Michael taught us. The kids were finally able to enjoy playing with her! At least for some of the time... we have a ways to go, but we didn’t have to keep them separated the entire time, which is great progress from last time. Michael will return soon so that we may continue our training. He will also stay with us throughout Kali’s life as she grows and learns, helping us address new issues as they arise. We are very excited to continue working with Michael! Bonus! Michael was VERY responsive to our texts and emails as questions came up, even during this first couple of days - very important to us. Thank you Michael, we are grateful to have made this connection with you. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management, Recall
review image
Debra H Guilford, Connecticut | June 23 2019
We are so happy that we met you, after just 1 session we feel like we have a much better understanding of the way we had been communicating with Riley and feel more confident moving forward. It has only been 4 days and we already are noticing a huge difference in her anxiety and behavior, thank you! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Other, Separation anxiety, Toileting
review image
Lisa G Bethlehem, Litchfield, Connecticut | June 19 2019
We had our first lesson with Richard & Vicki this afternoon, Tank is already responding to the new commands and we have noticed a positive change in his behavior. Looking forward to achieving our goal of a well behaved dog who will respond to us. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Separation anxiety, Sibling rivalry

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more

subscribe to my e-newsletter,

designed exclusively for my territory.
yorkshire terrier newsletter