Robert Machi dog training reviews

Robert Machi

Robert Machi

See below for all reviews for Robert Machi, or use the field below to filter reviews by behavior
Dolores M
Dolores M Brooklyn, New York | October 03 2013
I originally contacted Bark busters to help me with my 15 month old Yorkie, Scout's food aggression. Since the moment Rob Machi walked in, with his calm yet assertive demeanor, my dogs immediately knew he was the boss and listened to him! He explained everything very clearly and left me with detailed instructions. I saw an immediate change in one visit! It is definately a work in progress, but at least I know now how to get my dogs to listen to me! I also now have Jem's barking when someone enters the house under control with one word and Rob witnessed it on his second visit. Rob has made himself available saying I can contact him at anytime with any concerns. I will definately recommend Rob Machi and Bark busters to anyone who needs help with their four-legged family members! Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Jumping up, Toileting
review image
Viki & Michael K Brooklyn, New York | September 07 2013
Originally, I contacted BarkBusters when I was living in Westchester County. Nate (chihuahua mix) had been bit by my landlord's dog and my vet recommended contacting BarkBusters to help with his separation anxiety, dog aggression, and general sense of not being safe. Laura was wonderful. She helped me to understand Nate's behavior and how to address without re-traumatizing him. Years later, I met my now husband and Nate and I moved to Brooklyn. I wanted to help Nate get acclimated to our new living situation and address some issues that were left over from the incident in Westchester, so I called BarkBusters. They set us up with Rob and it was the best call we ever made. Rob has educated us on dog behavior and helped us to understand what Nate is thinking in every circumstance. Nate was still exhibiting dog aggression, some separation anxiety, and had a propensity for barking at everything in our hallway (no thanks to a terrible neighbor). Rob came in with loads of ideas on how to correct each behavior. He's even helped us to get Nate eating out of a bowl (ridiculous I know, but he refused to eat out of one) and back into his old harness which he had become afraid of after I accidentally pinched him with it. Rob has come by as many times as we have needed and has even done a Skype session. Every time he watches us and Nate and helps us to see what we are missing in the most gentle way possible. He is obviously great with dogs but he is awesome with people, too. It can be hard to hear you're doing something wrong or not in the best manner possible, and Rob makes it easier to hear. He has a great way of encouraging you to see things differently and take a new approach. Nate went from trying to eat the face of any dog in his line of sight to now reacting that way intermittently on walks (which we can now correct effectively), has made friends with two little dogs in our building, is more comfortable around new people, and even tried to play with two dogs he had never met before at a friend's house the other day. Nate is now the dog he was meant to be - healthy, happy, secure. And we cannot thank BarkBusters and Rob enough for helping us to make that possible. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Pulling, Separation anxiety
Heather I
Heather I Staten Island, New York | September 05 2013
When we brought Pre, our 1 year old Boxer, home from the city shelter we had no idea how much "baggage" he was coming with. We experienced a range of behavior issues from barking to becoming aggressive with us on the leash to challenging our leadership. Things got so bad that we didn't know what to do. We loved Pre so much but couldn't seem to get him under control. Rob is a miracle worker. After 5 sessions we went from only being able to walk him in front of our house to walking more than 2 miles a day in the park. Rob also helped us to work through all of the leadership behavior we were experiencing too. Every time Rob worked with us he was calm, clear and compassionate. We find it amazing how excited Pre gets whenever he sees him. Thanks to Rob Pre is becoming the well behaved dog we knew he could be. Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Aggression, Barking, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Other, Pulling, Recall
Trainer note from Robert : I consider myself a teacher...but I'm only as good as my student. Heather and her family are great people. They are 100% committed to Pre and following the plan I put them on. Great job!
review image
Jennifer & John M Staten Island, New York | August 07 2013
I just would like to leave a testimonial about trainer, Rob Machi. I don't know what we would do without his help. Our puppy, Brady, is a lab/pointer mix, 10 months old. As soon as Rob walked in the door, our lives changed forever. He is the dog whisperer! Rob was not only caring, training only with voice commands & no treats, he retrained us to handle our ball of energy. There was an instant change in only one visit. Never knew how quick it can work. Of course it takes consistency & dedication on our part but when he left we were confident & our puppy started learning his place in the pack. The second visit helped re-instill what we were doing & even helped our 12 year old son to not be afraid of being attacked & run over by our powerful energetic puppy. Rob was also kind enough to be available to talk at no additional charge & see how we were doing. I can't say enough about the help we all got from him & he will definitely make a difference in your dog's behavior. I'm so happy to know he is out there to help people from possibly getting rid of their pup for behavioral issues that can be fixed & save their lives. Sincerest thanks, Jennifer, John & Blaze Martin Permalink
Bark Busters dealt with Barking, Chewing, Hyperactivity, Jumping up, Pulling, Puppy management
review image
Brooklyn | October 26 2010
I am thrilled with the progress we have made with my 3 dachshunds in only one visit. I had heard great things about Bark Busters prior to calling for an appointment and yet was not prepared for the quick results we were able to achieve in just one session. There's a lot of work that needs to be done and I know it will be an ongoing challenge with one of my stubborn guys but with Rob's and Bark Busters' help I feel a level of confidence I never had before. And the guys are learning to respect me. Thank you! Permalink
review image
Staten Island | August 15 2009
I cannot praise and thank Robert enough for his guidance. His calm demeanor and patience is without question. Bah works!! The little green bags are magical. I cannot brag about Robert Machi enough. I thank Dr. Osterman and the staff of Kings Bay Vet. Hospital in Brooklyn, NY for recommending Robert. Permalink
review image
Breezy Point | February 17 2009
Rob's methods, evaluations, philosophy, and demeanor have helped us to see our dog, Tanya, in a new light. She is much more disciplined in the house and with guests. Tanya actually seems to enjoy the exercises he taught us to use to keep her focused on us when she is outside. We are confident with the progress she has made and look forward to continuing all the good work Rob modeled for us. Thanks so much, Rob! Permalink
review image
Staten Island | May 05 2008
Mr. Machi has enthusiastically participated in the Elias Bernstein Intermediate School 7 Career Day for the last three years. He has given up his time to speak with the students, providing invaluable knowledge about his career as a dog trainer for Bark Busters. He is among the favorites at our school, and both staff and students alike look forward to his presentation each and every time. Based on his interactions and patience with adolescents and adults asking many questions about their dogs, I can see how truly wonderful he is when working with dogs. Permalink
review image
Staten Island | December 18 2007
I work at the Veterinary Center in Staten Island, and Rob stops in periodically to talk to us. There usually are customers in our office when he stops in, and he is always glad to answer any questions they have. Today, after he left our office, the client asked me for his name because she wants to have him help her with her dog! He has helped a lot of our clients, and we are very happy to recommend him any time someone asks for a trainer. Thanks, Rob, for a job well done! Permalink
review image
Brooklyn | December 17 2007
My husband and I have worked with Robert Machi for a few years now. He has always helped us solve issues with our dog Eliot. Eliot has changed so much since we have worked with Robert. Sometimes issues come up and Robert always gets back to me in a short period of time. I am very happy with Bark Busters and would highly recommend the company. Permalink

Written Guarantee

The Bark Busters worldwide home dog training service guarantee is unique in the industry. It is designed to help owners resolve their dog's behavior and obedience problems and to provide customers with the satisfaction of ongoing support and peace of mind. Find out more